Nagpur – A Drive Down Memory Lane

We first visited Nagpur as kids, on our return journey from Delhi during the winter holidays. Nagpur was a stopover on our way back from Delhi, so we got to spend a day or so, before we returned to Ernakulam.

Nagpur - Mallu Giri

We were sure that Dad had this miserly streak in him, as whenever he traveled, it was planes, planes all the way. And, he used to fly at least 10 times a month those days, if not more. Even if he wanted to fart, he will get on the plane, go to Trivandrum, and fart peacefully.

All we got to see was the Airport, and if possible, some Mallu film stars who were regular air-travelers. We have had run-ins with Prem Nazir (Uncle) if I may use the word, Ummer (Uncle), Jayan (Uncle), and numerous Aunties (it was a pity, that we weren’t conscious, albeit cognizant enough then to capitalize on the market value of a mallu aunty!).

Occasionally, just out of pity, he may let us accompany him for a flight from Ernakulam to Trivandrum, which if I remember clearly cost a measly 75 Rupees per head, and which he was hesitant to spent.

Oh Dad!

Anyway, that one trip and back, was usually enough for us for the entire 45-day holidays.

In our absence, we were aware that he and Mum air-traveled a lot, but it just did not really care, as we were in School.

It was during one of our winter holidays, when Dad thought a visit to Delhi would be good for us. I realized ten years later, that he had business work there during that time. It was the norm that the clients normally include the travel bills in his consultancy fees. This time, I understood later that he had an arrangement with this travel agent to split his air-ticket up and down to include his luggage (that being us… now I am being nasty here… forgive me Dad!)

So, we took off to Delhi via the good old Indian Railways (This is about two odd days one-way and another two odd day’s return trip)… We might have about ten days, apart from the travel, where we’ve had to rush through places, buying some trinkets and souvenirs, and take helluva lot of photographs.

The places that we visited remained a distant memory, until we reached home, unpacked, and went through the photographs to finally figure out the places that we had been. Man, I wish they had those Volvo’s back then, although I couldn’t really complain as their luxury buses were much, much better than our school Bedford and the Ooty Badaga Vans (Pardon me, no offense to the Badaga Community.)

We did Vrindavan, Mathura, Hansi, Sultanpur, Agra, Taj Mahal,  (click, click – that’s Shah Jahan standing in the background!) .. And, if I remember clearly, the farthest we got was to Jaipur! There were quite a number of other places, but I just don’t remember them.

Gurgaon did not even exist then. I remember my Mum saying that she was keen on going to Rishikesh and Dad as usual was telling her that it was not time for her yet!

Geez!

The Delhi get around was just two days and phew, by the time you took a pee in Qutub Minar, you would be wanting to do that again at Red Fort.

And, the guides were a real bunch of cartoons, whom you have to experience to believe. They had a particular type of English depending on which state you were from. Nonetheless, we loved their English as it either kept us in splits or in awe (by the baksheesh they got !)

Our stay in Delhi was nice, but it was during the winter where you could literally freeze your ***** off. Yeah, that’s right, that’s what I had in mind!

We were quickly on our way back home, and this time we stopped at Nagpur for a day.
This was one of the best moments of the whole trip that I remember.

The very first thing that comes to my mind when I think of Nagpur is the oranges. Sweet and something out of this world. My mum was very much into jam, jelly, and marmalade making; and oranges were a blessing for her. Besides, they were bloody cheap. What you could get for about a kilo (I guess), you could get that in cartons over there.

We however, did not have the time to go to the Tadoba national park and the tiger preservation centers.

We nonetheless managed to visit quite a number of places, but predictably I cannot remember a thing… blank as ever! I could however, remember visiting some great forts, lakes and greens.

Our guides Gautam and Gokul (I still remember their names though, spoke little English, were youngsters, and had their own brand of Hinglish). Neither did they understand my Mum’s English nor my Mum theirs, but they became thick friends. I am sure they got a huge baksheesh from her, at the end of the trip.

Perhaps, it is time for another visit and we may run into Gokuls’ and Gautams’ offspring’s!

Must make a visit to the new Nag-poor, at least for the Oranges and Tadoba !

Nagpur - Mallu Giri

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑